My favorite part of spring cleaning is getting rid of the old. Every time I clean my closet and room I feel 50 pounds lighter. It almost feels like a karma cleansing. It is a wonderful experience to be able to release old things from your life.

Today I started cleaning my closet. How do I know which piece of clothing has to go? I ask my soul “Dear my soul do you still need this piece of clothing?” I listen with my heart for a yes or no. If I hear yes, I keep the piece of clothing. If I hear no, it goes in my donation box. Our soul has likes and dislikes just like a human being. Your soul may like a piece of clothing one year, but has transformed so much over the year that it no longer has a need for that clothing piece.

Go through your closet today and ask your soul to guide you to determine which pieces of clothing are still needed in your life and which you can donate to charity. You will also feel good that you are offering service to your local community. Donating is a great way to offer service.

You can also put your favorite music on and do some Soul Dancing as you clean! Have fun. Write down your experiences about letting go of your clothes and things you do not need anymore. You may find that some of your attachments will come up and allow yourself to truly LET GO of the old.

How can this help your soul? The material objects we are holding on to are not allowing our soul to expand and shine. It is creating like a box around us that is stuffy and difficult to breathe. Our soul transforms, it grows and in order to allow it to shine as bright as possible we need to let go of old mind sets, attitudes and beliefs. Often these mind sets manifest as MATERIAL THINGS that we hold on to. It is important to let go of these things in order to allow our soul to grow and be uplifted.

Go now and begin your work!

